Special Notice: the CHOGM Accreditation Portal will open on Monday, 3 June 2024.


The Commonwealth is a voluntary association of 56 independent and equal countries in Africa, Asia, the Caribbean and Americas, Europe and the Pacific. 11 Pacific Island countries are members of the Commonwealth.

33 of the world’s 42 small states are Commonwealth members. Nine are from the Pacific. Small states are especially vulnerable to issues such as climate change and developmental challenges. All Commonwealth members have an equal say regardless of size or wealth.

2.5 billion citizens live in Commonwealth countries, with more than 60 percent aged 29 or under.

Leaders of Commonwealth countries meet every two years for the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM), hosted by different member countries on a rotating basis. Since 1971, a total of 25 meetings have been held, with the most recent being in the Rwanda in 2022.

Commonwealth Leaders meeting at CHOGM to shape Commonwealth policies and priorities on shared goals like development, democracy and peace, trade and economy, climate change and environment. The Commonwealth’s values and principles are expressed in the Commonwealth Charter.